Autumn, Almonds and Awards

Oh yeah, it’s Autumn baby, my favourite time of the year…

6a534b2313ed00e8c39fc7043607ef6f

The colours, the beautiful crisp autumn days, cosying up of the couch, digging out those warm wooly knits and dreaming of becoming a domestic baking goddess. I say dreaming as I always have a yearning at this time of year to don my apron and bake up a storm but to be honest I rarely do this year is going to be different though (yeah right, I say that every year). Maybe it’s because I have my own personal bun in the oven but I have decided that I need to hone my cooking skills. Nothing too fancy mind but I could really do with polishing up my basic kitchen skills so I thought I would start off with this little gem of blackcurrant and almond cake I found on Pinterest

blackcurrant_almond_cake-e1333729204546

Mmmmm, doesn’t that look yummy!

I’m actually going to swap the blackcurrants for blackberries though because I’ve got some I picked a few weeks ago sitting in the freezer and I’ve been racking my brains what to use them for but I think this recipe would be perfect. Check me out – picking wild blackberries and freezing them – yip, that’s just how I roll ;-) Anyway, I’ll let you know how it turns out.

On a completely unrelated but equally exciting note, Rene Walrus has been nominated for The VOWS Awards again this year! NOMINEE-BUTTON

So a BIG, MASSIVE thank you to all my wonderful brides who nominated me. You guys totally ROCK!!!

And a big congratulations to all the other nominees, you guys ROCK too. There are too many to list here so head on over to the VOWS homepage and check them out…

I can’t wait for the awards party in November, it’s Vegas theme but I don’t think I’ll fit into a Vegas girl outfit with my ever expanding pregnant waistline. Maybe a fat Elvis??? Well it’s not till the 25th so I’ve still got plenty of time to whip something up.

Happy Autumn folks!

♥♡♥

This entry was posted in Loves and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn, Almonds and Awards

  1. paulacoop says:

    Good morning,

    Great blogging!

    Just noticed an “l” in almonds. The loaf looks amazing :)

    Hope you are well~

    xoxxo

    Paula Coop McCrory

    >

Leave a Reply

